Consume: Two


Winter, meet spring.
—-
I’ve taken many scary leaps lately. Sometimes I look at these choices which have followed me around for years, nagging me with their possibilities, and I feel pride. In some ways I have been braver than I have ever been.

But then I see someone else’s work and it’s so incredibly good. It’s a piece of writing that sings with truth and beauty, and now my little projects read infantile, silly even. Are we all capable of producing something beautiful? Is diligent practice and putting in the work a guarantee?

Sometimes I become petulant and decide it’s best not to look outside myself at all, but that only serves to swaddle my ego and I become disgusting to myself.

There is that speech by Ira Glass that’s always all over the internet, the one about hard work and practice and time and the importance of good taste. When I’m feeling particularly pathetic and (oh God) untalented, it helps to watch it. Ah, my writing and my food is awful but, hey, I’m pretty sure I have good taste. I will pluck along.

Anyway, it’s Friday and I’m actually in a fantastic mood, if a little tired. Big full weekend coming up. I hope I get to eat something awesome. 🙂

—–

Reading:
This post is particularly beautiful. I was moved by her thoughts and by the Seamus Heaney poem she included. She is right, the poem is right. I also want to be quickened to “verb, pure verb”. So lovely.

What Part of “No, Totally” Don’t You Understand? – Language will never cease to fascinate me.

The Senses of Good Cooking – When cooking, always trust your most importance sense: common sense.

Watching:
My husband and I went to the Father John Misty show last night and it rocked my world: I Love You Honeybear

Eating:
Homemade bread! I bought the Josey Baker Bread cookbook a few weeks ago and I’ve been slowly plodding my through it. Really great resource for the newby bread maker. We made olive bread and it brought our egg toast this morning up a level.

Making:
Avocado Cucumber Salad
Roasted Lamb with Beet Glaze
Snow Eggs

Leave a comment