Consume: III

IMG_6654

Do you ever get overwhelmed by the limitless ways in which to live? At least once a week I find myself wading through another article on the best way to be. Sometimes I am captivated by this new idea on what a considered and purposeful life looks like; more often, I am grumpy about having to once again re-evaluate my entire perspective.

Honestly, I think some of the grump comes from decision exhaustion. Often, just an hour before reading such an article, I had to consider the 20 or so lunch options near my work, weigh the expense of each option, determine the health of each option (it’s own minefield, sweet Jesus), the distance to each, and of course the trickiest of all variables: my current appetite. After all that considering, and the countless other minor annoying choices I’ve had to make all morning, how can I possibly summon the energy and resolve needed to make the choice for myself of whether I want to live a life of dedication, dutiful responsibility, and hard work or if I will indulge my whims, listen to my fickle heart, and place the concerns of others aside to follow my gut wherever it may take me.

I dunno man. I’m lucky I even nailed lunch down, though it took me like 20 minutes to decide that I want to get that one sandwich for the second time this week. Ugh.

Oh but I am very excited for one decision that has been successfully made: what I will be cooking for this silly little space over the weekend. Shit’s gonna be tasty.

———–

Reading:
The Faraway Nearby by Rebecca Solnit – My narcissistic tendency to adore nearly all other Rebecca’s aside, I’ve really enjoyed reading this book of, what, essays? A Memoir? Sorta both? I’ve been highlighting enlightening and beautiful passages like mad. Here’s a few worth your time:

“Difficulty is it’s own school, though learning is optional.”

“To dig deeper into the self, to go underground, is sometimes necessary, but so is the other route of getting out of yourself, into the larger world, into the openness in which you need not clutch your story and your troubles so tightly to your chest. Being able to travel both ways matters, and sometimes the way back into the heart of the questions begins by going outward and beyond.”

“Books are solitudes in which me meet”

Ah, she’s wonderful. There is a lot of heart and wisdom here.

Scrolling:
Why is your millennial Crying? – Hahaha. Haha….ha…..ha ……….. 😐

Eating:
Out too much. Dear wallet, I am sorry.

Making:
Wile Mushroom Pate (via SmittenKitchen)

Springtime Sheet Pan Chicken (via NYTimes)

Leave a Reply

