Greek Chicken Roulade

ten

There are certain flavors combinations that I reach for again and again, and the classic flavors of greek salad is one of them. I think most everyone enjoys these flavors together, besides weirdo olive-haters and who cares about them? (on a side note, I seriously dislike black olives. I will eat nearly anything, but black olives taste distinctly like blood to me and I just cannot deal). So maybe I copped out a little here; I’m not exactly breaking any down any culinary boundaries with this recipe. I mainly wanted to give this a shot because these are ingredients that I have on hand nearly all the time and I don’t like spending money if I don’t have to? There’s your honesty for the day.

Seven
Six

Lack of creativity aside, I was pretty nervous about the hummus here, but I think it works. It’s a strong flavor so feel free to adjust the amount to match how much you personally like hummus. After the chicken was done cooking, and I was done trying to take its’ portrait, I looked at my husband anxiously to see if he would give it a passing grade. I wouldnt say he’s a “foodie”(gag) by any stretch, but he has taste buds and that makes him qualified for such an evaluation. Luckily, he liked it. The unfailable greek flavor combo wins yet another round.

As is the point of this blog, I used the core ingredients, steps, and rules from my previous post to create this recipe. I hope you find them helpful in creating your own version of chicken roulade too.

Two
Three
Four

Greek Chicken Roulade

  • 4 6-8oz Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • ¼ cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • ¼ cup chopped & pitted kalamata olives
  • ½ cup crumbled feta cheese
  • ¼ cup chopped parsley
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped red onion
  • 4 tablespoons hummus
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil, for sauteing
  • 3 garlic gloves
  • 1 stem of rosemary or oregano
  • ½ cup white wine
  • ½ cup chicken broth
  • ½ tablespoon unsalted butter

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Flatten chicken breasts between two pieces of saran wrap to ¼” thickness. Salt and pepper both sides and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  3. Mix together sun dried tomatoes, kalamata olives, feta cheese & parsley. Season with salt & pepper to taste.
  4. Spread 1 tablespoon of hummus on one side of each breast, leaving about a half inch of space all around edge. Top hummus with ¼ cup of tomato/olive/cheese/parsley mix.
  5. Starting with the narrow end of each breast, roll into tight pinwheels. Secure each breast in the roll by tieing with bakers twine every inch or so (or use toothpicks).
  6. In a saute pan that has been pre-heated over medium high heat, add 2 tablespoons of oil. Once oil is hot, drop in the rolled breasts, turning every few minutes to brown on all sides. Add more oil as needed. Do not worry if breasts do not cook all the way through.
  7. Onced browned, remove breasts from skillet and return to baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Put breasts into pre-heated oven for 10-15 minutes until heated and cooked all the way through.
  8. Meanwhile, lower empty skillet to low heat and do not wipe out. If very dry, add a little more oil. Saute garlic and whole sprig of rosemary until fragrant.
  9. Add white wine to skillet and reduce to about half. Add chicken broth and reduce to half. When reduced, add a small pat of butter to pan. Taste sauce for salt and pepper, adjust as needed. You may add lemon juice or some chopped parsley to sauce if you want. Pull out rosemary sprig before serving.
  10. When chicken breasts are done cooking, let rest for 1 minute and then cut into slices. Spoon pan sauce over breasts once plated.

I served this with a shaved brussels sprouts salad which is totally in my top 5 salads.

Nine

You’ll have to forgive to poor quality of the photos in this post. The sun did as suns do and totally set on me. I’m not good enough with my camera to make up for nature’s failures, alright?

I’ll right, I’m gonna roulade on out of here. Let’s roulade out boys! I’m on quite the roulade! Ah ha…ha..

Leave a Reply

