Consume: V

IMG_6766

In a really unexpected twist, I am running. I have become a runner. The running part is not extraordinarily unexpected as I have attempted to cultivate this habit (hobby?) twice in the past; both times felt like torture and ended in injury. After each failure I was resentful to the entire idea of running and the apparent ease of other runners. A childish reaction, perhaps, but it was born largely from the disappointment in my own body for its weaknesses. The unexpected twist in this current iteration is the lack of both torture and injury. Hurrah! As it turns out, on past attempts I was pushing too hard, going too fast, and taking on more than I could handle. The gusto I interpreted as strength was actually unraveling any progress I was making. This ego-driven fuel was powering a one way train back to where I started. Now, by taking my time and focusing on small improvements I can relax into the effort and enjoy my progress. I think this is a good lesson to pay attention to and apply to other aspirations. Some things just cannot be rushed.

But, I do wanna rush face first into a cocktail to celebrate the upcoming–if rainy–weekend, amirite?

Reading:
I am in two book clubs and I am about to start books for each, Franny & Zooey by J.D. Salinger and All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr . Let the battle of the book clubs commence!

Listening:
Super into Villager’s and Torres’s new albums.

Eating:
Local fruits and vegetables! It’s finally farmers market season and I am so pleased. I will be visiting the one near Cherry Creek tomorrow morning and I hope to come home with quite the bounty.

Making:
Blistered Shisito & Burrata Bread Salad (via iamafoodblog)
Herbed Focaccia-Pimento-Romesco (via Two Red Bowls)
Strawberry Mango Mint Julep Fruit Salad with Whipped Marshmallow (via How Sweet It Is)

Have a lovely weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

